Midwest Model EU

Design and Process

Colleges send delegations of 5-7 members each, representing the 27 EU member states. Over a period of 48 hours, they meet in formal and informal sessions as the European Council, the European Commission, and several different councils of ministers. 

For three days, students introduce, discuss, and reach decisions on EU policy. National leaders provide overall direction, ministers huddle to work out the details of policy, commissioners and their directors-general try to give new direction to matters like foreign and security policy, the single market, eastward enlargement, or the development of the euro. Emergency joint meetings are held to break impasses.

Organization for the EU-Midwest begins in January each year when invitations are emailed to faculty advisers and students begin forming delegations.

Past participating schools have come from across the country:

  • Anderson University, IN
  • Ball State University, IN (Best Delegation: 1994, 1995, 1999, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2019)
  • Bradley University, IL
  • Butler University, IN
  • Clark University, MA
  • College of Charleston, SC
  • DePaul University, IL
  • DePauw University, IN
  • Denison University, OH
  • Drake University, IA (Best Delegation: 2007)
  • Drury University, MO
  • Earlham College, IN
  • Eastern Michigan University, MI
  • Florida Altlantic University, FL
  • Florida International University, FL
  • Grand Valley State University, MI
  • Indiana University-Bloomington, IN (Best Delegation: 2011)
  • Indiana University-South Bend, IN (Best Delegation: 2001, 2005)
  • Indiana University-Southeast, IN
  • Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, IN (Best Delegation: 1997, 1998, 2006)
  • Iowa State University, IA (Best Delegation, 2015, 2016, 2018)
  • Kennesaw State University, GA
  • Le Moyne College, NY
  • Loyola University Chicago, IL
  • Luther College, IA
  • Maryville University, MO
  • Missouri Southern State University, MO
  • Missouri State University, MO
  • Morehead State University, KY
  • Muskingum College, OH
  • Oakland University, MI (Best Delegation, 2009)
  • Principia College, IL (Best Delegation, 2000)
  • Purdue University, IN (Best Delegation, 1996)
  • Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, IN
  • Stephen F. Austin State University, TX (Best Delegation, 2022, 2023) 
  • Syracuse University, NY
  • Texas Women's University, TX
  • University of Arkansas, AR
  • University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, IL
  • University of Indianapolis, IN (Best Delegation: 2021)
  • University of Louisville, KY
  • University of Michigan, MI
  • University of Missouri-Columbia, MO (Best Delegation, 2002, 2003, 2004)
  • University of Missouri-St Louis, MO
  • University of North Carolina, NC
  • University of Notre Dame, IN (Best Delegation, 1993, 2024)
  • University of Oklahoma, OK
  • University of Pittsburgh, PA
  • University of Toledo, OH
  • University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, WI
  • University of Wisconsin-Parkside, WI
  • US Air Force Academy, CO
  • Wayne State University, MI
  • Western Illinois University, IL
  • Western Michigan University, MI
  • Winona State University, MN

The Model EU is really the high point of my various classes dealing with European politics, both for my students and for me.

Jonathan Olsen, Faculty advisor, Texas Women’s University

Learn more about MMEU

Contact us